Dans Internationalisation, Innovation

De l’association à ces deux grandes enseignes découle le caractère très controversé de cette économie souvent mal connue. Mais des initiatives en développement à Bruxelles montrent qu’elle peut aussi avoir un impact sociétal positif. Le projet européen EU-GIVE dont Enterprise Europe Brussels c/o hub.brussels est partenaire vise justement à favoriser le développement international et la reproduction de telles initiatives autour de l’économie sociale et durable. 

Qu’est-ce que l’économie collaborative ?

L’économie collaborative (parfois aussi appelée économie partagée) est à la mode. Mais bien souvent sans qu’on sache très bien ce que cache cette dénomination. Dans sa communication de 2016, la Commission européenne

  • la définit comme : « des modèles économiques où des plateformes collaboratives qui créent un marché ouvert pour l’utilisation temporaire de biens et de services souvent produits ou fournis par des personnes privées facilitent des activités. » ;
  • indique que « L’économie collaborative fait intervenir trois catégories d’acteurs:
    • i) des prestataires de services, qui partagent des actifs, des ressources, du temps et/ou des compétences — il peut s’agir de personnes privées qui proposent des services sur une base occasionnelle (« pairs ») ou des prestataires de services qui interviennent à titre professionnel (« prestataires de services professionnels »);
    • ii) des utilisateurs de ces services; et
    • iii) les intermédiaires qui mettent en relation — via une plateforme en ligne — les prestataires et les utilisateurs et qui facilitent les transactions entre eux (« plateformes collaboratives »). » ;
  • et précise que « Les transactions réalisées dans le cadre de l’économie collaborative n’entraînent généralement pas de transfert de propriété et peuvent avoir un caractère lucratif ou non lucratif. ».

Un élément clef apparait: l’entreprise ou l’initiative ne vend pas seulement un produit ou un service mais créé un réseau d’utilisateurs ouvert à tous qui les connecte pour créer de la valeur en commun dans une logique horizontale. Cette mise en réseau s’appuie souvent par la création d’une plateforme internet mais ce n’est qu’un moyen et pas le seul.

De nouveaux « business models » en découlent impliquant les particuliers

  • P2P (« Peer to Peer ») ou C2C (« Consommer-to-Consumers »)
  • mais aussi C2B2C (C2C par l’intermédiaire d’une entreprise), B2B2C (B2C par l’intermédiaire d’une autre entreprise)…

Par ailleurs, l’intermédiaire joue un rôle plus ou moins important :

  • d’intermédiaire technique (un « mur électronique » de petites annonces),
  • ou de création d’un nouveau marché (où les prix sont déterminés par les acheteurs et les vendeurs)
  • voire d’influence sur les prix et les conditions de l’échange.

En outre, comme souligné par l’experte Aurélie Duthoit, l’économie collaborative apparait d’une certaine façon au croisement de 3 autres formes d’économie sans s’y confondre :

  • l’économie circulaire (par exemple en transformant vos déchets en ressource pour d’autres)
  • l’économie relocalisée (par exemple les circuits courts….)
  • et de l’économie d’usage (vous n’achetez pas un bien ou un service mais le droit de l’utiliser pour une période).

Ainsi, si l’économie collaborative a un caractère potentiellement disruptif pour l’économie classique, comme l’ont montré AirBnB et Uber, elle peut aussi générer des nouvelles dynamiques impliquant les particuliers « prosommateur » mais aussi citoyens pour générer un impact sociétal positif.

Les tendances bruxelloises

L’attention à cet impact sociétal positif dans nos régions est justement l’un des piliers fondamentaux du projet européen EU-GIVE dans lequel hub.brussels est impliqué en tant que partenaire du Enterprise Europe Network (EEN). Pour rappel, ce réseau EEN fournit du support, des conseils et de l’accompagnement pour vous aider, en tant que PME bruxelloises à vous internationaliser, à innover, à saisir les opportunités du marché intérieur européen et à accéder aux marchés extérieurs.

EU-GIVE vise à sensibiliser sur les potentiels générés par l’économie collaborative et à préparer les entrepreneurs à gérer toutes les implications de cette nouvelle forme d’économie. EU-GIVE s’adresse plus particulièrement aux Petites et Moyennes Entreprises et aux entreprises sociales. Ce projet pilote se déroule en 3 phases sur deux ans.

En 2018, la première phase du projet visait à dresser un premier inventaire des initiatives dans les différentes régions et pays impliqués. Cet inventaire a notamment pris la forme d’un questionnaire envoyé à une liste ciblés d’initiatives et de parties prenantes. Et la conclusion est qu’il en existe bien à Bruxelles, et peut être même plus comparativement que chez certains de nos partenaires. Elles concernent des secteurs très divers et poursuivent différentes motivations. Et de fait dans la pratique, il n’est pas toujours simple d’appliquer la définition pour décider qu’une entreprise appartient ou non à l’économie collaborative. Le benchmarking avec nos partenaires n’étant pas encore finalisé, il est trop tôt à ce stade pour citer des noms, mais on peut retenir les grandes tendances suivantes :

  • A côté des grands classiques du secteur des initiatives concurrentes se développent à l’échelle régionale, par exemple des coopératives locales de coursiers à vélo. Des entrepreneurs veulent se lancer dans cette dynamique mais l’échec d’entreprises comme Menu Next Door récemment montre que ce n’est pas un créneau facile. Un des enjeux central au le développement de l’économie collaborative est le fait d’atteindre une taille critique permettant d’étendre le réseau mais avec le risque de perdre l’ancrage régional et sociétal initial.
  • L’économie de la fonctionnalité et l’économie collaborative sont particulièrement en essor dans les secteurs de la mobilité et de la logistique urbaine. On le voit avec de nombreuses initiatives de vélo sans borne, de voitures partagées, de livraisons partagées….
  • L’échange de biens et de services entre particuliers : le partage d’objets par exemple de bricolage est à la mode ou des plateformes peuvent vous mettre en relation avec les fournisseurs de service de votre quartier.
  • Le secteur IT florissant à Bruxelles a contribué au développement de nombreuses plateformes en ligne. Mais des initiatives plus locales s’en passent aussi.
  • Le secteur social n’est pas en reste. Coop City, le centre dédié à l’entrepreneuriat social et coopératif à Bruxelles, traduit une demande d’accompagnement vers le modèle coopératif et la création d’entreprises sociales qui peuvent ainsi prendre d’autres formes juridiques. En particulier, le secteur de la santé semble en demande de développement de nouvelles logiques de collaboration comme le montre les projets 2017 du programme Pollinize de Coop City.
  • Des nouvelles règles juridiques ont aussi été développées comme pour les plateformes agrées de l’économie collaborative.
  • Ainsi, derrière les motivations économiques (réaliser des économies, générer de nouveaux revenus…) et les outils technologiques, des enjeux extra-économiques entrent en jeu comme l’attention accrue à l’environnement, la solidarité, la coopération… D’ailleurs, le collaboratif sort aussi de l’économie avec des initiatives participatives développées par les autorités publiques ou des collectifs citoyens.

EU-GIVE : les prochaines étapes

Ces premiers constats seront présentés et approfondis avec les autres partenaires européens du projet. En outre, dans la deuxième phase du projet, une journée d’information le 13 juin 2018 et une réunion participative avec les parties prenantes viseront non seulement à sensibiliser sur le potentiel précédemment décrit mais aussi à impliquer les acteurs régionaux dans une démarche aussi collaborative et à identifier des synergies et coopérations possibles.

Lors de la troisième phase en 2019, les partenaires développeront et testeront de nouveaux services pour les entrepreneurs de l’économie collaborative. EU-GIVE ne fournira pas de soutien financier mais un coaching individualisé et collectif pour 15 initiatives. En particulier pour mieux s’inspirer, collaborer, répliquer… avec des initiatives développées chez nos partenaires en Aragon (Espagne), Portugal du centre, Sicile, Estonie et Slovénie.

En conclusion, ce n’est donc encore que le début du projet EU-GIVE, pour forger l’économie collaborative de demain qui réponde aux préoccupations des citoyens.

 

Intéressé?

Sources

  • Communication de la Commission européenne « Un agenda européen pour l’économie collaborative », COM/2016/0356 final, 2.6.2016
  • Aurélie Duthoit, Petit manuel d’économie collaborative : à l’usage des entreprises, Paris : Groupe Eyrolles, 2015
  • Podcast de l’émission « Du Grain à moudre », « L’économie collaborative est-elle en voie de désubérisation ? », 03/01/2018
  • Projet EU-GIVE

 

« Ce projet est cofinancé par l’Union européenne. Le contenu de cet article n’engage que son auteur. La Commission décline toute responsabilité quant à l’utilisation éventuelle des informations fournies ci-dessus. »

Actualités dans la catégorie Voir toutes les actualités

Webinar: Opportunities for European funding for the Nanotechnology Industry in 2020 and beyond

This webinar, hosted jointly with NCP Brussels and Entreprise Europe Network, takes a look at H2020 funding opportunities in the pipeline for 2020 and the shape of Horizon Europe for nanotechnology and advanced materials. Join us to find out how your organisation can benefit and who can help you.

Economie circulaire: derniers appels Horizon 2020

Vous êtes une PME active dans l’économie circulaire et réfléchissez à des financements européens ? Horizon 2020 offre des opportunités pour différents types de PMEs (et aussi pour d’autres acteurs).

Export : comment choisir son marché cible

Effectuez 9 étapes pour évaluer vers quels marchés orienter votre prospection en priorité, en tenant compte des caractéristiques de votre société et d’une analyse de marché. – Analysez votre secteur dans le pays de référence : performances du secteur sur les 2-3 dernières années, flux d’import-export, principaux acteurs, principaux canaux de distribution, etc. – Pré-analyse […]

Actualités connexes Voir toutes les actualités

The SME Instrument becomes the EIC Accelerator, offering optional equity investment in addition to a grant

From the 6 June 2019 innovative companies can apply for a grant of up to 17.5 million in combined grant and equity financing to scale-up quickly and effectively. The grants available will be between € 0.5 and 2.5 million and equity investment can amount up to €15 million. The aim is to increase support for […]

Enhanced European Innovation Council: From the SME Instrument Phase 1 and Phase 2 to Pathfinder and Accelerator

The Enhanced European Innovation Council (EIC) pilot supports researchers and innovators developing high-risk, breakthrough innovations with the potential to create new markets and boost jobs, growth and prosperity in Europe. It pilots two new schemes developed on the experience on FET-Open and SME instrument funding schemes: the EIC Pathfinder pilot (grant only), comprising FET-Open and […]

European Industry Week 2019: open your doors!

An opportunity to showcase Brussels-based industrial community's know-how

Start typing and press Enter to search

In Grow internationally, Innovation

Because of its associated link with these two big brands, the collaborative economy is quite controversial but also often misleadingly understood. Initiatives currently under development in Brussels show that this economy can also have a positive societal impact. The European project EU-GIVE – of which Enterprise Europe Brussels c/o hub.brussels is a partner – precisely aims at fostering the international development and replication of such initiatives around the social and sustainable economy.

What is the collaborative economy?

The collaborative economy (also often called sharing economy) is trendy. However often without a clear understanding of this term. In its communication of 2016, the European Commission

  • defined it as “business models where activities are facilitated by collaborative platforms that create an open marketplace for the temporary usage of goods or services often provided by private individuals.”
  • underlined that “The collaborative economy involves three categories of actors:
    • (i) service providers who share assets, resources, time and/or skills — these can be private individuals offering services on an occasional basis (‘peers’) or service providers acting in their professional capacity (“professional services providers”);
    • (ii) users of these;
    • and (iii) intermediaries that connect — via an online platform — providers with users and that facilitate transactions between them (‘collaborative platforms’).”
  • and noted that “ Collaborative economy transactions generally do not involve a change of ownership and can be carried out for profit or not-for-profit.”

A key element should be remembered: the enterprise or initiative is not just selling a product or service but creating an open network of users, which connects them to jointly produce value in a horizontal logic. The creation of this network often goes through the setting-up of a web-based platform but this is only a mean to an end and not the only one.

New business models have been designed involving individuals such as:

  • P2P (Peer-to-Peer) or C2C (Consumers-to-Consumers)
  • but also C2B2C (C2C with the intermediary of an enterprise) B2B2C (B2C with the intermediary of another firm)….

Moreover, the intermediary is playing from a smaller to a larger role:

  • It can be a simple technical intermediary (like an electronic wall of small adds)
  • Or creates a new marketplace (where prices are determined by sellers and buyers)
  • or even influence the prices and the conditions of the exchange.

Moreover, as pointed out by Aurélie Duthoit (cf. sources below) the collaborative economy appears in a way at the crossroad of 3 other economies but should not be mistaken for them

  • the circular economy (for instance by transforming your waste as resources for others)
  • the local economy (for instance short circuits)
  • and the service economy based on functionality (you do not buy a good or a service but the right to use it for a defined period).

The collaborative economy can thus potentially disrupt the conventional economy, as shown by AirBnB and Uber. Nevertheless it can also generate new dynamics involving individuals “prosumers” but also citizens to generate a positive societal impact.

Brussels trends

Being attentive to the positive societal impact in our region is one of the key principles of the EU-GIVE project in which Enterprise Europe Network is involved as part of the Enterprise Europe Network (EEN). The EEN helps businesses innovate and grow on an international scale. It is the world’s largest support network for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with international ambitions.

EU-GIVE is committed to disseminate and raise extensive awareness of the potential of collaborative economy and prepare entrepreneurs to manage all the implications of the novelty that is has introduced. The project targets notably Small and Medium Enterprises and social enterprises. This pilot project is organised in three phases over two years.

In 2018, the first phase of the project aimed at producing a mapping of the existing initiatives in the regions and countries involved. The mapping consisted of a questionnaire sent to a targeted list of initiatives and stakeholders. Moreover, one conclusion of our mapping is that such initiatives exist in Brussels and maybe comparatively more than by some of our partners. They covered very different sectors and are governed by various motivations. In the practice, it is not always easy to apply the definition to decide whether an initiative is involved or not in the collaborative economy. As the benchmarking with our partners is still underway, it is too early at the stage to quote names but the following broader trends can be identified:

  • Beside the big players of the sector, smaller competitive initiatives are being developed at a regional scale, for instance local cooperatives for bike delivery. If entrepreneurs want to sail in this new dynamic, the failure of enterprises like Menu Next Door recently reminded us that this is not an easy slot. One of the key stake of the development of the collaborative economy is reaching a critical mass allowing a broadening of the network but with the risk of losing the initial local and societal anchorage.
  • The service economy based on functionality and the collaborative economy are particularly booming in the sectors of mobility and urban logistics. It can be seen in the development of free floating, shared cars, shared deliveries…
  • Platforms can help you sharing objects among peers, like tools, or put your in connection with local suppliers from your neighbourhood.
  • The IT sector, flourishing in Brussels, contributed to the development of the online platforms but some local initiatives are also doing without.
  • The social sector is not behind. Coop City, the Brussels centre for social entrepreneurship and cooperatives answers the need for support to move toward cooperative models and social enterprises which can takes other legal forms. In particular, the health sector seems eager to develop new collaboration logics as shown by the 2017 projects from the Pollinize programme of Coop City.
  • New legal forms are also emerging like the accredited platforms.
  • Behind the economic motives (economies of scale, generation of new revenues….) and the technological tools, extra-economics stakes cannot be neglected like the growing attention for sustainable development, solidarity and cooperation… In fact, the collaborative sector can also be outside the economy with participative initiatives launched by public actors or citizens.

EU-GIVE : the next steps

These first findings will be presented and deepened with the other European partners from the project. Moreover, in the second phase of the project, an infoday on 13th June 2018 and a focus group with stakeholders will aim not only at raising awareness about the above mentioned opportunities but also to involve the regional actors in a collaborative dynamic and to identify possible synergies and cooperations.

In the third phase in 2019, the partners will develop and test new support services for the entrepreneurs of the collaborative economy. EU-GIVE will not provide financial support but individualised and collective coaching for 15 initiatives.  Notably to get inspired of, collaborate with and replicate initiatives developed in Aragon (Spain), the centre of Portugal, Sicily, Estonia and Slovenia.

In conclusion this is only the beginning of the EU-GIVE project and of the emergence tomorrow of a collaborative economy better answering the preoccupations from the citizens.

 

You want to be involved?

 

Sources

  • European Commission, “A European agenda for the collaborative economy”, COM/2016/0356 final, 2.6.2016
  • Aurélie Duthoit, Petit manuel d’économie collaborative : à l’usage des entreprises, Paris : Groupe Eyrolles, 2015
  • Podcast from the radio programme « Du Grain à moudre », « L’économie collaborative est-elle en voie de désubérisation ? », 03/01/2018
  • EU-GIVE project

  This project is co-financed by the European Union. The sole responsibility of this publication lies with the author. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein.

 

 

News in the Category View all news

Last news from the EEN #Textile & #Fashion Sector Group

In this new edition of the newsletter you will find new profiles coming from different countries about companies looking for new collaborations in the textile sector: BRNL20180601001 – Dutch private label studio seeks certified sustainable clothing producers based in Europe. BONL20180215001 – Established Dutch developer in the fashion market is offering a service agreement for […]

Bereid uw onderneming voor: doe de Brexit Impact Scan

De #Brexit Impact Scan is er voor alle bedrijven in België. De #Brexit kan elk bedrijf raken, ook al vermoedt u dat in eerste instantie niet. Doorloop alle op u van toepassing zijnde situaties om de – soms onvermoede – effecten voor uw bedrijf te ontdekken. De Brexit is niet meer zo ver weg, en […]

Save the date : 05-06/02/2019 Industry Day 2019

Enterprise Europe Brussels attended the Industry Day 2018 edition of this high-level conference featuring key political speakers and experts from various industrial spheres meant to discuss about the future of the European industry.

Related News View all news

Launch of the Innovation Radar platform & pilot cooperation with Enterprise Europe Brussels c/o hub.brussels

In April 2018 the European Commission launched the Innovation Radar platform. Today, Enterprise Europe Brussels c/o hub.brussels is proud to announce that it has been selected by the EC to participate in a pilot action aimed at offering the Network's support to these innovators.

EU Commission boosts venture capital investment in Europe’s innovative start-ups

Public consultation on the review of the SME definition

The current definition dates back 2003 and it is widely used in several EU policies such as research and innovation, structural funds, competition, as well as for some European administrative exemptions and reduced fees.

Start typing and press Enter to search